AskPatty Certified Female Friendly Logo

271 posts categorized "Car and Truck Reviews"

January 05, 2016

Meet Rich Miller: Nissan's Avid Outdoors Truck Man

1_rich_miller_nissan_titan_truck_driveRich Miller is chief product specialist of Nissan Product Planning for Titan and Armada and is a life-long truck enthusiast. Miller has been with Nissan trucks for over 18 years, and he has an inside view of what a customer wants and needs in the truck market segment.

Before joining the Titan full-size truck project in 1999, Miller had worked with Frontier and Xterra. His strategy was to test the capability of Nissan's first full-size truck with drivers who would take that vehicle to its limits. These early Titans were loaned to cowboys on his family ranch in Idaho, oil riggers, log cutters, and tradespeople in tough, physical work. Each group evaluated the truck in real-world driving and work scenarios, all of which played into the robust Titan pickup.

Continue reading "Meet Rich Miller: Nissan's Avid Outdoors Truck Man" »

December 03, 2015

2015 Los Angeles Auto Show Overview: Crossover and Sport Utility Vehicles

2015_LAAS-2016_jeep_grand_cherokee_SRT_nightWe saw so many vehicles at the 2015 Los Angeles Auto Show, we had to break them into three separate stories highlighting the fun cars, the sedans, and the utility vehicles. 

Here is the last installment, highlighting the selection of crossover and sport utility vehicles that were on display.

Continue reading "2015 Los Angeles Auto Show Overview: Crossover and Sport Utility Vehicles" »

December 02, 2015

2015 Los Angeles Auto Show Overview: Sedans

2015_LAAS_BAS-IMG_9063-showfloorOne of the most influential auto shows in the world, the Los Angeles Auto Show sets the tone for the entire auto show season. 

We saw so many vehicles at the 2015 Los Angeles Auto Show, we had to break them into three separate stories highlighting the fun cars, the sedans, and the utility vehicles. Here is the second installment, focusing on a variety of sedans that will soon be for sale in the United States.

Continue reading "2015 Los Angeles Auto Show Overview: Sedans" »

December 01, 2015

2015 Los Angeles Auto Show Overview: Fun Coupes, Convertibles, and Sport Cars

Los_Angeles_Auto_Show-Connected_Car_Expo-postcards-005-see_the_futureWe saw so many vehicles at the 2015 Los Angeles Auto Show, we had to break them into three separate stories highlighting the fun cars, the sedans, and the utility vehicles.

Here is the first installment, focusing on the fun coupes, convertibles, and sporty cars that will soon be for sale in the United States.

Continue reading "2015 Los Angeles Auto Show Overview: Fun Coupes, Convertibles, and Sport Cars " »

November 30, 2015

Auto Show Season Begins With 2015 Los Angeles Auto Show

Los_Angeles_Auto_Show-Connected_Car_Expo-postcards-001-new_cars_player_rulesIt’s been more than a hundred years since the first Los Angeles Auto Show displayed 99 cars at an area skating rink. Since that first show in 1907, the event has now grown so large it occupies the entire Los Angeles Convention Center, drawing hundreds of thousands of auto fans each year. One of the most influential auto shows in the world, the Los Angeles Auto Show sets the tone for the entire auto show season. AskPatty’s Chief Editor Brandy Schaffels and President of our Dealer Division Cherie Watters were there to view the highlights.

Continue reading "Auto Show Season Begins With 2015 Los Angeles Auto Show " »

July 29, 2015

Taking the 2015 Lexus NX 300h on a Texas Road Trip

Scenic Lake TravisBy Jo Ann Holt

I recently drove from Dallas to beautiful Lake Travis, west of Austin, for a return visit to some of my favorite people and scenery.  Spring rains in Texas brought the lake back up to where it should be, and it’s great to see sail boats, motor boats, and personal watercrafters out enjoying the bright, sunny weather.  

Like most Texas “lakes,” Travis is a man-made reservoir. It stretches 65 miles, and was formed in 1942 with the construction of Mansfield Dam on the Colorado River.  The only natural lake in Texas is Caddo Lake in East Texas, but that’s another story for another road trip.

Continue reading "Taking the 2015 Lexus NX 300h on a Texas Road Trip" »

July 21, 2015

2015 Lincoln MKC Black Label -- a Perfect Recovery Vehicle

2015_Lincoln_MKC-exteriorWhen Lincoln offered to loan me a Black Label MKC, I wasn’t expecting its delivery to be delayed due to an emergency case of appendicitis. Thankfully, they didn’t cancel the loan, and it became one of the things I was most looking forward to upon my discharge from the hospital.

Let’s face it: I love my little Ford Fiesta, but I didn’t think it would be very easy to get in and out of its low seat, and I wasn’t sure how easily I’d be able to shift its manual transmission, with three fresh laparoscopic incisions in my abdomen. The 2015 Lincoln MKC Black Label would be a welcome treat after three days in the hospital.

Continue reading "2015 Lincoln MKC Black Label -- a Perfect Recovery Vehicle " »

May 27, 2015

Five Fun Convertibles for Summer

Ladies_in_convertible-iStock_000024661208_SmallIf you're one who loves to drive with the top down, the approaching summer season is a great excuse to shop for a convertible cruiser. Finding the ideal drop-top driver can be a difficult choice, however, as the market has a broad variety of offerings, from four-place tourers to little two-seat roadsters, as well as a few desirable cars that sit right smack in the middle.

In our quest for the perfect open-top transportation, we've narrowed the range to the five entertaining convertibles, offering something for every price range and state of mind. So grab the sunscreen from the glovebox, put on your baseball cap, throw the top down, and let's go for a ride.

Continue reading "Five Fun Convertibles for Summer" »

May 26, 2015

Cargazzmic Experience at Heels and Wheels 2015

1HeelsandWheels_2015What happens when you get a bunch of awesome women media, journalist, bloggers, PR Peeps, and carmakers together for a ride and drive? A Cargazzmic Experience!

 

The 4th annual #HeelsandWheels2015 event hosted at the Four Seasons Westlake Village, California this year was educational, entertaining, zany and OHHH what a driving experience. My driving partner Brandy Schaffels, Chief Editor here at AskPatty.com, and I drove 13 cars (and 1 truck) totaling $667,430 and 4,293 horsepower per Mary Lowry of CarsandMe.

 

Big thanks to Buick's Kristin Rubi; Dodge's Kristin Starnes; GMC's Kelly Wysocki; Infiniti's Aileen Clarke; Jaguar & Land Rover's Halie Schmidt; Kia's Amy Corsinita; Lexus's Leigh Anne Sessions; Mazda's Carley Hummel; Mitsubishi's Laura Conrad; Nissan's Paige Presley; and Volkswagen's Jessica Anderson and Jeannine Ginivan for the opportunity to drive a little and dream a little!

 

Continue reading "Cargazzmic Experience at Heels and Wheels 2015" »

April 12, 2015

Patty Parties with the Stars and Cars at Coachella

Shad_Balch_JustDrive_Coachella_2015I was delighted again to receive a very exclusive invitation from Shad Balch, his arm picture with his #JustDrive Tattoo, to the #LoveDriveVibe Chevrolet Performance Cars Pool Party during the Coachella Music Festival. This Chevrolet_MacDonals_BootsyBellows_Coachella_2015haute party was held at the Bootsy Bellows Estate, also sponsored by McDonalds again, the first weekend of the 2015 Coachella Valley Music Festival in Indio. This year’s festival features AC/DC, Drake, Jack White and more than 160 other acts.

This star studded party featuring Chevrolet's Corvette and Camaro Paris_Hilton_Coachella_2015performance vehicles, included selfie photo op booths and selfie sticks and was entirely too fun! The music, food and pool antics created quite a celebrity buzz with stars in attendance like Paris Hilton, Chris Brown,Justin Bieber and Kendall Jenner, the 19-year-old "Keeping Up with the Kardashians" star.

Chris_Brown_Coachella_2015What did I think of the Chevrolet performance vehicles at the #LoveDriveVibe party? Gorgeous and playful in this very hip rockin' setting. There was a booth with a Camaro in a racing "winner's circle", champagne and all, to shake and spray all over! Kudos to Chevrolet for showing how youthful, cool and fun the Chevrolet brand can be!

This #Carchella party fare included libations from McDonald’s and Absolute Fergie_BlackEyePeas_Coachella_2015Vodka and ended on a very high note with Fergie of the Black Eyed Peas making a special stage appearance with rapper 2 ChainZ.

From Wikipedia: The Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival (commonly referred to as Coachella or the Coachella Festival) is an annual music and arts festival held at the Empire Polo Club in Indio, California, located in the Inland Empire's Coachella Valley in the Colorado Desert. It was founded by Corvette_Coachella_2015Paul Tollett in 1999 and is organized by Goldenvoice, a subsidiary of AEG Live. The event features many genres of music, including rock, indie, hip hop, and electronic dance music, as well as art installations and sculptures. Across the grounds, several stages continuously host live music. The main stages are: Coachella Stage, Outdoor Theatre, Gobi Tent, Mojave Tent, and the Sahara Tent; a smaller Oasis Dome was used in 2006 and 2011, while a new Yuma stage was introduced in 2013.

 

And who was this guy with the blue hair and a beard?

Blue_Hair_Beard_Coachella_2015

Jody DeVere aka Patty, CEO, www.askpatty.com at Coachella!

050




comments powered by Disqus


Find Cars For Sale

Car Advice

Ask The Experts!

Help Our Charities